‘Ganguly Invited Me To IPL Finals,’ Says Pakistan Cricket Board Chief Ramiz Raja, Explains Reason For Not Attending

Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Ramiz Raja has said that he was invited by Board of Control for Cricket in India president Sourav Ganguly to attend the Indian Premier League (IPL) final, but he decided not to attend.

Ramiz Raja is currently the head honcho of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), while Sourav Ganguly (Dada) is the BCCI President. Both Dada and Ramiz bhai are the best personnel to lead their respective boards into the future. Dada extended an olive branch to Pakistan with an invite to Ramiz Raja. But Ramiz didn’t accept citing one incident which he wanted Dada to apologize for.

Ramiz Raja explains, “Yes, Ganguly invited me to the IPL Finals. But I had to decline the invitation. Sourav has to apologize to me for what he did back in 2013. In 2013, Sourav and I were commentators for the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy. During one such stint, I had to take a bathroom break live on air, since all the beer I’d consumed the night before was shooting out of my bladder. While I was in the bathroom, Ganguly drank my cup of chai along with his. When I returned my cup was empty. He finished my chai. When I asked him about it, he said it there was ‘makkhi’ in the chai so he thought he’d throw it away. I was humiliated and disappointed.”

It’s amazing that such little incidents happen and we don’t know about these. But now Ramiz bhai isn’t holding anything back. And spilling all the secrets from this incident.

Ganguly retaliated saying, “I did drink his tea, but I also called for another chai. And he got another chai”. Ramiz Raja agreed to this point. Ramiz bhai said, “Yes, this is correct. He did order another chai for me, but by the time it got to me, Ganguly sneezed and dropped some of his ‘shembud’ (Snot) in the chai. Because we were on air doing commentary, I didn’t say anything and finished my tea full of ganguly’s snot. I don’t know if he did it on purpose or it was an accident. But after drinking that tea, I had bad diarrhea for 2 days and had to miss the presentation ceremony”.

Ganguly was not available for comment on this alleged shembud dropping in tea incident. But Ramiz bhai seemed upset. We hope things clear out between the two. But it looks like in this case, Dada hit the last ball sixer.

Cameraman Kamil Yusuf Ke Saath, Chandnawab, Indus news, Karachi.

Leave a comment